Skip to content

BIA announces recipients of 2023 Lifetime Achievement, NH Advantage awards

BIA announces recipients of 2023 Lifetime Achievement, NH Advantage awards

Dean Christon, Sen. Lou D’Allesandro, Sherry Young and Friends of Aine to be honored at 110th Annual Dinner

CONCORD — The Business and Industry Association announced the 2023 recipients of its prestigious Lifetime Achievement and New Hampshire Advantage awards to be presented at its 110th Annual Dinner and Awards Celebration, presented by Eversource, Wednesday, Oct. 25.

Lifetime Achievement honorees are Dean Christon, former executive director and CEO of New Hampshire Housing; state Sen. Lou D’Allesandro of Manchester; and attorney Sherry Young of Rath, Young and Pignatelli. Friends of Aine will receive the New Hampshire Advantage Award.

The celebration is from 4:30 to 8:30 p.m. at the DoubleTree by Hilton in Manchester. BIA’s premier event draws over 700 business, political and opinion leaders from around the state and is considered New Hampshire's largest networking event.

The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes business leaders who demonstrate a commitment to leadership in their professions, communities and New Hampshire. Recipients help shape their communities and the state through successful business endeavors, participation in civic organizations, involvement in boards and service to local and state government.

Christon served as executive director and CEO of New Hampshire Housing from 2007 through 2021 and held leadership roles there for more than 33 years. Christon has been influential in advocating for affordable housing for New Hampshire families, as well as working with state officials on economic and community development strategies. He is vice chair of the Advisory Board of the Saint Anselm College Center for Ethics in Society, and a trustee of NeighborWorks Southern NH.

Sen. D'Allesandro is in his 12th term in the New Hampshire Senate representing District 20, which includes four Manchester wards and Goffstown. He served in the House of Representatives from 1973-1974 and 1997-1999, and on the Executive Council from 1974-1980. D’Allesandro serves on the Southern New Hampshire Services’ Board of Directors and just completed nearly two decades as an appointee to the New England Board of Higher Education, which promotes greater opportunities in higher education for New England students.

Young is a founder, shareholder and past president of Rath, Young and Pignatelli. She heads the firm’s Environmental Practice Group, and assists clients on federal and state environmental matters, real estate transactions and business and finance transactions. Young serves on the boards of directors of the Walden Mutual Bank and University of New Hampshire Foundation, the Dean’s Advisory Board of the UNH Franklin Pierce School of Law, and is chair of New Hampshire Public Radio’s Board of Trustees.

The New Hampshire Advantage Award celebrates businesses, organizations or projects that enhance the Granite State’s special character and quality of life in meaningful ways. The nonprofit Friends of Aine, founded by Christine and David Phillips, provides bereavement support services and resources to children and families who have suffered the death of a loved one. Services are provided at no cost thanks to the generosity of donors.

For a list of past winners, visit

To purchase tickets for BIA’s Annual Dinner and to see a list of event sponsors, visit To learn about sponsorship opportunities, email Lora McMahon.


Additional Info

Media Contact : Rick Fabrizio,

Powered By GrowthZone